“My role in Lakeer Ka Fakeer is a tailor -made one for me”- AJAZ KHAN

By Jyothi Venkatesh
285036_220326054680330_100001088118165_609573_2936856_n
What is your role in Lakeer Ka Fakeer?
I play a challenging role of a police informer called Fakeer Mohammad Khan in Laker Ka Fakeer. It was quite a tough role to play since I had to undertake a lot of research for my character by living for twenty days in the same house where Fakeer Mohammad Khan had stayed in Nagpada with his family consisting of his younger brother and mother
How did you bag the role from director Zubair Khan?
It was when I was taking part in the reality show called Bollywood Club that director Zubair Khan met me. He was the director while I was just a contestant in the show but he had promised me that he would cast me in a film if he gets an opportunity and lived up to the promise by casting me in Lakeer Ka Fakeer. Zubair Khan who has directed Lakeer Ka Fakeer made me undergo workshops for acting with the other actors like Vicky Ahuja, Javed and Hyder, who are underrated actors to get the nuances of my character
You had earlier acted in films like Alla Ke Bandhe and Rakth Charitra. Where do you think Lakeer Ka Fakeer will take you now?
I wanted to prove that I am an actor and I have got the right opportunity to prove that I am one with Lakeer Ka Fakeeer, because my earlier films like Allah Ke Bandhe, Rakth Charitra and Buddha Hoga Terra Baap in which had a solo fight with Amitji did not run and no one took notice of my talent or presence. This is my first role as the protagonist in the title role and I am one hundred per cent confident that the film will work wonders for my career.
What kind of roles would you like to do?
20
I like to be part of intense scripts. I like the tag of the intense actor but would also like to do romantic roles. I want to be part of more films like Lakeer Ka Fakeer which gave me not only the script and the role but also love from every one associated with the film. I’d say that without an iota of doubt, the role of Fakeer Mohammad Khan which I am essaying in Lakeer Ka Fakeer is a tailor made one for me. I did not choose the role but the role chose me.
Which are the directors with whom you would love to work?
I would love to work with Ramgopal Verma once again. Besides Ramuji, I would also love to work with directors like Tigmanshu Dhulia, Dibakar Banerjee, Sujoy Ghosh and Anurag Kashyap.
Which are your forthcoming projects?
I am excited about two of my forthcoming projects. One of them is Hasnan Hyderabadi’s Yaarab in which I play the role of an ATS officer. My co-actors are Flora Saini and Arjuman Moghal. The other one is an action film to be produced by Remo D’Souza. Ramuji has also promised to cast me in his next film. I consider Ramuji to be my God father in the industry and am really looking forward to working with him in the near future.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

