I WANTED SAJID TO TURN DIRECTOR : SALMAN KHAN

I WANTED SAJID TO TURN DIRECTOR 10 YEARS AGO …says Salman Khan as his friend Sajid Nadiadwala turns director with Kick, replacing Shirish Kunder

While it is known that Salman Khan is starring in best buddy producer Sajid Nadiadwala’s next Kick, it’s the recent replacement of the film’s director that has made news. It is learnt that Sajid will helm the film, taking over from Shirish Kunder at the insistence of his buddy.

When asked about it, the actor was all praise for his friend. “Sajid’s narrations are better than those of most directors and I’ve been pushing him to make the switch for years. In fact, I wanted him to turn director 10 years ago when he came to me with a film called Kunwara. Today, I’m still kunwara (a bachelor) but he’s finally turned director!”

Sajid, on his part, believes that he has to deliver his best, considering the immense faith that Salman has bestowed upon him. “Our friendship goes back two decades. Salman and I share a very special chemistry, which you will now get to see on the big screen. We’ve given big hits in the past. So at this stage of his career, if he’s selected me as his director, then I have to make sure I deliver to his expectations. I’ve also been speaking to several people from the industry who I’ve worked with in the past and they’ve given me their blessings,” says the producer.

On Shirish’s exit from the film, Sajid says, “He sent me a lovely message that read, ‘I’m very happy for you. It was you who envisioned this film, and no one else could have done justice to it’.”

Sajid, one of B-Town’s top producers, with films like Judwaa (1997), Har Dil Jo Pyar Karega (2000), Mujhse Shaadi Karogi (2004), Housefull (2010) and the more recent Housefull 2 (2012) under his banner Nadiadwala Grandson Entertainment Pvt Ltd celebrates 25 years of being in the industry this year and Housefull 2, the last release from his production house, has found its place in the coveted 100-crore club. All’s well that ends well, is all we can say!

SHIRISH’S MESSAGE TO SAJID : I’m very happy for you. It was you who envisioned this film, and no one else could have done justice to it.

Leave a Reply

